My Life is About to Change

A Very Big Announcement

Bonnie Barton
6 min readFeb 25, 2019
Hint, hint. Credit: pixabay.com

Trust me. I was as surprised as anyone.

Through my own grit and perseverance, I’d secured a position at PriceWaterhouse in Charlotte. (That wasn’t what surprised me.)

Having a master’s degree from the #1 accounting program in the country gets you the interview, but it doesn’t necessarily secure the job.

For years I wanted to experience real seasons (but stay below the Mason-Dixon line) and move to a bigger city than my hometown.

After graduating from UT, I briefly moved back to Tallahassee while I studied for the CPA exam and interviewed in Raleigh and Charlotte.

I decided the opportunity to work for PriceWaterhouse was the more prestigious gig over the second-tier firm in Raleigh.

I got the job on my own, knew virtually no one, and proved to myself definitively that I could start fresh all on my own.

I would give myself a year in Charlotte and decide what I wanted to do at the end of the year.

And that’s where the surprise came in.

At the end of my year, I realized I missed Austin!

I contacted a dear friend of mine from grad school who worked at Arthur Andersen in Houston…

--

--

Bonnie Barton

Queen of mixtapes. Lover of music, travel, and fashion. Authentic sharer of life lessons and dating foibles.